Welcome to the RMLSA

Welcome to the Rocky Mountain Lightning Sprint Association home page. The RMLSA is a Winged and Non-Wing mini sprint association that races in the rocky mountain region at race tracks such as: I-76 Speedway in Fort Morgan Colorado, Phillips County Raceway in Holyoke Colorado, Sherman County Speedway in Goodland Kansas and Lincoln County Speedway in North Platte Nebraska. Check out the RMLSA Video Gallery for some of the latest videos and the RMLSA Photo Gallery for the latest photos.


Check out our classified for cars and parts to get started or upgrade.



April 20th, 2014 – The RMLSA opens its 2014 season Saturday May 3rd at Butch Speichers I-76 Speedway in Fort Morgan, CO. Check out and facebook for full schedules, results and links to our partners.


The 2014 RMLSA Season promises to be one of the best ever as we will be racing at I-76 Speedway 6 times throughout the year. We make our way up to Holyoke for 2 nights at the always fast Philips County Raceway. We are also happy to be returning to both Sherman County Speedway in Goodland, KS and Lincoln County Raceway in North Platte, NE for 2 nights at each track and will be running one winged and one non-winged each which we have not done before.

There is also a special event on the calendar in 2014. The RMLSA will be joined by members of the Mid-America Lightning Sprints and the Midwest Lightning Sprints on the 4th of July weekend at Dodge City Raceway Park in Dodge City, KS as the undercard to “The Greatest Show on Dirt” the “STP” World of Outlaws Sprint Cars. You don’t want to miss this one!

With all indications we will have the past 3 Champions #56 Troy Simpson, #5 Brent Rees in the Brandon Steele #5 and #1 Troy Ullery running to take the RMLSA Cup home for another year. Having there be 3 different champions in 3 years it shows the competition level in 2014 will be at a high level. Not only do we plan on seeing a lot of familiar faces in the #69 of Paul Babich, #7 of Scott Wilson, #11 of Glenn Waterland and #31 of Steve Becker vying for the championship, the #18 of Jeff Gieg returns to run a full schedule after doing some traveling in 2013.

We will be missing some members from last year as the Pribbenow Racing heads to Texas for other opportunities and we wish them all the luck in the world. Other members we will also miss are the #97 Bill Rousch as he goes to a midget and the #82 of David Gilpatrick as he moves to Maryland for other opportunities and we wish them both all the luck in the world as well.

It appears #3 Rick Marchbank and #30 Scott Heikes will be running a limited schedule this year, we look forward to running with them as many times as possible.

In between running the RMMRA schedule we hope to see #2 Bob Harr in some form of a limited schedule as well.

The #32 Mike Anderson ran a limited schedule in 2013 in the Steve Becker owned #32, with Steve getting a new car for 2014 the #32 has been sold and has his #31 for sale as well. See classified section for more details.

It looks like the #24 of Tim Snelling and the #39 of Mike Snelling are returning for a full schedule in 2014 after running a limited schedule in 2013. Glad we will be seeing them more this year.

Dale Johnston in his #69X ran a limited schedule in 2013 and hopefully we will see him on a regular basis in 2014.

It also sounds as if we will be seeing the #61 of Matt Martinez, #71 of Frank Martinez and the #19 of Jesse Fernandez on a fairly regular basis and look forward to that.

Michael Bennett will be joining us in 2014 driving his #21 Lightning Sprint.

We also have some rookies coming in to the club as well. It is always great to see drivers coming from other divisions or just starting out in a Lightning Sprint.

Johnny Boos made the move from the 270’s in 2013 and will be in his #24B Lightning Sprint in 2014.

Gieg racing has built a second car for 2014 and Bill Harding will be driving the #08 this year.

Looking forward to a GREAT 2014 racing season!






Upcoming RMLSA Events

Date Event Location City
Race at I-76 Speedway
I-76 Speedway
Fort Morgan
Race at Philips County Raceway
Phillips County Raceway
Race at Lincoln County Raceway
Lincoln County Raceway
North Platte, NE
To view the complete RMLSA Schedule click here.
You are not authorised to view this resource.
You need to login.

From the Gallery

Please join our Facebook group!

Login Form

Please take a moment to register on the RMLSA website. Registration is fast and free and it will help us to keep you up to date on RMLSA news and events.

Lost Password?
No account yet? Register

Partner Links